US Drought Monitor of NC Heading US Drought Monitor of North Carolina

Drought Classification Legend County and Basin Legend Hi-Resolution Image | Print Version |

North Carolina Drought Advisory

Released: August 17, 2017

The North Carolina Drought Advisory issued by the Drought Management Advisory Council has been updated to reflect drought conditions on August 15, 2017 indicated on the weekly U.S. Drought Monitor of North Carolina.  Until further notice, the NCDMAC strongly urges the implementation of drought response actions, for all water users located in or dependent on water resources from the areas of the state experiencing the following drought conditions:

  • (DO) Impending drought conditions (abnormally dry conditions).

County Drought Classification

If the US Drought Monitor of NC shows more than one drought designation in a county, the drought intensity classification for each county published by the North Carolina Drought Management Advisory Council is the highest drought designation that applies to at least twenty five percent (25%) of the land area of a county.

Drought Classification and Response Actions

D0 - Abnormally Dry

The NCDMAC requests all water users in the counties that are indicated on the US Drought Monitor Map as suffering from Abnormally Dry (D0) conditions to closely monitor their water supply source for diminished capacity and take precautions to prepare for impending drought conditions.

  • Review and be prepared to implement your Water Shortage Response Plans at the appropriate time.
  • Participate, as appropriate, in regional and local coordination for the management of water resources.
  • Stay informed on drought conditions and advisories (

Counties Under Current Advisory

D0 - Abnormally Dry

Alamance County
Anson County
Bladen County
Caswell County
Chatham County
Columbus County
Davidson County
Davie County
Duplin County
Durham County
Forsyth County
Guilford County
Harnett County
Iredell County
Johnston County
Lee County
Lenoir County
Montgomery County
Moore County
Orange County
Pender County
Person County
Randolph County
Richmond County
Rowan County
Sampson County
Stanly County
Wake County
Wayne County

Total: 29