US Drought Monitor of NC Heading US Drought Monitor of North Carolina

Drought Classification Legend County and Basin Legend Hi-Resolution Image | Print Version |

North Carolina Drought Advisory

Released: May 28, 2015

The North Carolina Drought Advisory issued by the Drought Management Advisory Council has been updated to reflect drought conditions on May 26, 2015 indicated on the weekly U.S. Drought Monitor of North Carolina.  Until further notice, the NCDMAC strongly urges the implementation of drought response actions, for all water users located in or dependent on water resources from the areas of the state experiencing the following drought conditions:

  • (DO) Impending drought conditions (abnormally dry conditions).

County Drought Classification

If the US Drought Monitor of NC shows more than one drought designation in a county, the drought intensity classification for each county published by the North Carolina Drought Management Advisory Council is the highest drought designation that applies to at least twenty five percent (25%) of the land area of a county.

Drought Classification and Response Actions

D0 - Abnormally Dry

The NCDMAC requests all water users in the counties that are indicated on the US Drought Monitor Map as suffering from Abnormally Dry (D0) conditions to closely monitor their water supply source for diminished capacity and take precautions to prepare for impending drought conditions.

  • Review and be prepared to implement your Water Shortage Response Plans at the appropriate time.
  • Participate, as appropriate, in regional and local coordination for the management of water resources.
  • Stay informed on drought conditions and advisories (

Counties Under Current Advisory

D0 - Abnormally Dry

Alamance County
Alexander County
Alleghany County
Anson County
Ashe County
Avery County
Buncombe County
Burke County
Cabarrus County
Caldwell County
Caswell County
Catawba County
Chatham County
Cherokee County
Clay County
Cleveland County
Davidson County
Davie County
Durham County
Forsyth County
Gaston County
Graham County
Granville County
Guilford County
Haywood County
Henderson County
Iredell County
Jackson County
Lee County
Lincoln County
Macon County
Madison County
McDowell County
Mecklenburg County
Mitchell County
Montgomery County
Moore County
Orange County
Person County
Polk County
Randolph County
Richmond County
Rockingham County
Rowan County
Rutherford County
Stanly County
Stokes County
Surry County
Swain County
Transylvania County
Union County
Watauga County
Wilkes County
Yadkin County
Yancey County

Total: 55